; New Councillors welcomed to City of Wanneroo - City of Wanneroo

New Councillors welcomed to City of Wanneroo

Published Tuesday, 22nd October 2019

The City of Wanneroo has welcomed four new and four returning* members to Council following their success in the Local Government Election.

A group shot of the City of Wanneroo council.
(L-R, back row) Councillors Chris Baker, Hugh Nguyen, Vinh Nguyen, Lewis Flood, Dot Newton, City of Wanneroo CEO Daniel Simms, Mayor Tracey Roberts, Councillors Domenic Zappa, Sonet Coetzee, Paul Miles and Linda Aitken. (L-R, front row) Councillors Jacqueline Huntley, Natalie Sangalli, Brett Treby, Frank Cvitan and Glynis Parker.

The Mayor swore the Councillors in at a ceremony at the Civic Centre after a Welcome to Country and Smoking Ceremony in the Jacaranda Amphitheatre.

The newly elected Councillors are:

South Ward

  • Brett Treby (re-elected)
  • Vinh Nguyen
  • Glynis Parker*

Central Ward

  • Frank Cvitan (re-elected)
  • Jacqueline Huntley

North Coast Ward

  • Chris Baker
  • Natalie Sangalli (re-elected)

Tracey Roberts has been re-elected for a third term as Mayor securing 68.82 per cent of the vote.

Mayor Roberts welcomed the new Councillors to the City.

“I am looking forward to working with the City’s newest and returning Councillors to continue the effective advocacy and engagement with our community,” she said.

“Our Councillors bring skills and interests in small business, entrepreneurship, road safety, legal matters, environment, youth education and welfare, community safety and facilities.

“Having a diverse range of expertise and backgrounds on Council will ensure that the needs and aspirations of our community – both residents and businesses – continue to be appropriately represented.

“I extend my warmest congratulations to our newly elected and re-elected Councillors and trust they will work hard alongside our current Councillors to deliver excellent opportunities and results for our community who deserve the best representation from their local government members.

“I also extend Council’s appreciation to former Councillors Russell Driver and Samantha Fenn for their service to our community and wish them all the very best for the future.”

A Special Council Meeting will take place on Tuesday 29 October. Councillors will elect the Deputy Mayor and representatives of committees and working groups.

Community members are welcome to attend.

*Glynis Parker previously served as Councillor for the City between 2013 and 2017.

More articles in the news archive.