Sun City Precinct
The treasured Sun City Precinct in Two Rocks, which includes the Two Rocks Marina and Shopping Centre, the former Atlantis Marine Park site, and the King Neptune Statue has been included on the State Register of Heritage Places. In 1972, developers launched the Yanchep Sun City "leisure city" with the Two Rocks Marina to be built as a training base for the 1974 challenge for the America's Cup. Plans for the development of the former Atlantis Marine Park were announced in 1981 and included the King Neptune statue - now a local landmark.
Enterprise Avenue, Two Rocks
Walls of Honour
The Walls of Honour are a series of artworks by artist Judith Forrest, made up of three sections. The Pioneers section celebrates those people awarded the title of ‘Pioneer’ by the City. Up until 2016, this title was conferred on individuals who had lived within the region for fifty years or more and who had made substantial contribution to the Wanneroo community. The European Settlers section marks early immigrant arrivals from 1850 who established the first farms and settlement in the Wanneroo region. The Noongar section acknowledges the rich history of the Wadjuk Noongar people of this region and honours the significant contributions of local Noongar individuals and groups who have lived and worked in this area.
Bert Togno Park, Civic Drive, Wanneroo
Lime Kilns – Kiln Road
Over 20 different lime kilns can be found throughout the Wanneroo area. The Kiln Road Lime Kiln site was operational from the 1930s to 1985. The site includes a group of three lime kilns within an area of natural bushland, on land originally owned by the Spiers family. These kilns were owned and operated by the Menchetti family, who migrated to the Wanneroo area in the 1920s.
The site is located off Kiln Road, accessed by a limestone road
Cooper's Lime Kilns
State Heritage Registered Cooper's Lime Kilns were established in 1932 by Henry Cooper and his sons. The Cooper family were early residents of the Quinn’s Rocks area, and the kilns supported many migrant families through the Depression years. The kilns are associated with the long history of Western Australia’s lime burning industry, and with the development of Quinn’s Rocks.
These kilns are situated in a suburban park and are easily accessible for public viewing (Cooper's Park, Fairport Vista, Mindarie).
Perry's Paddock is named after John (Jack) Perry who bred racehorses and held race meets on his property at the site. The ruins that are still visible are the remains of his old stables and homestead, Linhay. The site was the location for famed Perry’s Paddock Picnic Races.
Experience life at Perry’s Paddock at the turn of the 20th century through a unique augmented reality experience! Best viewed on site, locate the sign to scan a QR code and use your mobile device to bring to life the fun and noise of a race day.
Find out more and discover other historical destinations along the Sunset Coast Immersive Trail.
Perry's Paddock is part of the Yellagonga Regional Park, with many walking and cycle paths that are open all year round to visitors (Ocean Reef Road, Woodvale)
Yanchep National Park
Yanchep National Park is a popular tourist attraction and wildlife reserve. The park contains the famous Yanchep Caves, lakes and wetlands, and much loved koala population. The State Heritage Registered area includes the historic Yanchep Inn, Gloucester Lodge and pool, and the Avenue of Trees. The Park also has a number of walking trails.
Yanchep National Park is managed by the Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions, and is open all year round. Entry fees apply.
Entry from Wanneroo Road, or Yanchep Road, Yanchep
Mary Lindsay Homestead
Mary Lindsay Homestead was the home of the Honourable Mary Lindsay, daughter of Sir William Clarke. Mary purchased 23,000 acres of freehold land and pastoral leases from the Midland Rail Company in the 1920s. Listed on the City’s Local Heritage Survey, the Homestead was constructed by the Bunnings Brothers in 1926, and was the first permanent house built in Yanchep.
Mary Lindsay Homestead underwent extensive conservation and refurbishment works in 2017. The Homestead is currently utilised as a Gallery and Arts Centre, home to the Two Rocks and Yanchep Community Arts Network (TRYCAN). Access to the Homestead is via Capricorn Esplanade, Yanchep.
Yellagonga Regional Park
Surrounding the shores of Lake Joondalup, this park is named after a Whadjuk Noongar elder and leader of the Aboriginal community in the area.
The park has many scenic walks and recreational areas which are accessible all year round.
The Wanneroo Showgrounds were originally managed by the Wanneroo Agricultural Society, who held their first annual Agricultural Show in 1909. Although the management of the showgrounds was transferred to the Wanneroo Council in 1948, the Agricultural Society still hold their annual Show on the site today.
Free public access to the Showgrounds is available all year round expect during events.
Wanneroo Road, Wanneroo.
Wanneroo War Memorial
The current location of war memorial is the fourth site of the Wanneroo War Memorial. The three Bennett brothers from Lake Pinjar are included amongst the nine local men killed during World War One and the three local men killed in World War Two.
The War Memorial is accessible all year round.
Memorial Park, Sinagra Street, Wanneroo