Youth Student Scholarships - 2019

Published Thursday, 5th September 2019

Nominations are now open for the City of Wanneroo Student Scholarship Awards.

Mayor Tracey Roberts with Jayden Crane from Wanneroo Senior High
Mayor Tracey Roberts with Jayden Crane from Wanneroo Senior High School, one of this year’s successful Student Scholarship Award recipients. Jason is joined by his mother and grandfather.

Eligible students from government schools who will be studying in year 10, 11 or 12 in 2020 can apply, with successful recipients receiving $500 towards the payment of associated fees, textbooks, excursions and other study-related requirements.

The Awards are divided into three categories:

  • ATAR (Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank)
  • Non ATAR
  • Commitment Achievement

Mayor Tracey Roberts said there were 12 successful applicants in 2019 who received the Student Scholarship Award.

“We were pleased to award students from four different schools this year; Girrawheen Senior High School, Mindarie Secondary College, Wanneroo Secondary College and Yanchep Secondary College,” Mayor Roberts said.

“Almost 37 per cent of the City’s population is aged under 25, we look forward to being able to help more school students in 2020 through these scholarships.”

The Student Scholarship Awards are a part of the Youth Reward and Recognition Policy.

For more information and details on how to nominate, visit For further queries, phone Youth Services on 9405 5000 or email

Nominations close Friday, 11 October.

More articles in the news archive.