; Social Plans Review | City of Wanneroo
Menu
Language

Total fire ban - Wednesday 8 December 2021

DFES has declared a 24 hour TOTAL FIRE BAN for the City of Wanneroo on Wednesday 8 December 2021. The Fire Danger Rating is forecast as EXTREME. Further information

Home

Social Plans Review

Community engagement has now closed. Comments were submitted from 16/03/2021 to 11/04/2021.

Information

Your community, your say (Next community engagement phase coming soon)

Your community, your say – the City of Wanneroo is reviewing its various community social plans, and is seeking your thoughts, feedback and priorities.

The City’s vision is that of a healthy, safe, vibrant and connected community – and our various community social plans help us design and deliver programs, services and infrastructure that bring that vision to life. They also inform how we work with our diverse and growing community.

We are currently seeking your input on:

  • Services and infrastructure in your local community that support your wellbeing
  • Opportunities to participate and connect with your community
  • What you feel are priority areas or issues for the local community.

Your input will help us to develop new community focused plans that will guide how we deliver the vision and community wellbeing over the next four years.

We encourage participation from all community members and especially from young people, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community members, young families, seniors, people from culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) backgrounds, people with disability, and other vulnerable members of our community. 

The community survey closed on 11 April 2021.

If you have any queries, contact Community Development Planner Alison Leitch.  (See contact details below)

Background

The City of Wanneroo undertakes a range of activities in relation to early childhood, youth, seniors, homelessness, reconciliation, and access and inclusion for people with disability and people from multicultural backgrounds. Over the last several years, this work has been informed by six (6) social plans.

Access and Inclusion Plan 2018/19-2021/22
To eliminate barriers to access and inclusion and to advocate for equity of access for all abilities and cultures in our community

Age Friendly Plan 2017/18-2020/21
To support the creation of an age-friendly City and identify and deliver key priorities and strategies to support seniors in the City

Early Childhood Plan 2017/18-2019/20
An integrated approach to planning, delivery and review of services to improve the lives of young children and support the healthy development of children in their first eight years of life

Reconciliation Action Plan 2018/19-2022/22
To work towards reconciliation with our First Nations peoples and towards an inclusive community with strong relationships across cultures based on mutual respect and understanding

Regional Homelessness Plan 2018/19-2021/22
In collaboration with the Cities of Joondalup and Stirling, to provide a regional response to assist the community with understanding, preventing and responding to homelessness

Youth Plan 2017/18-2020/21
To ensure young people are valued, empowered and supported to reach their full potential, and connected to community to support wellbeing, health, safety, participation and opportunity.

Key achievements to date across each of the Plans are provided in an attached summary (See Documents Section).

The Plans that guide this work are now up for review. The City is developing new plans and is seeking community input to inform this work.

Key Dates

  • Engagement period Phase 1 (now closed)
  • Date: 26/03/2021
  • City meetings with Advisory and Stakeholder Groups and Networks
  • 16 March through to Sunday, 11 April
  • Date: 29/03/2021
  • Engagement period / survey closed
  • Sunday, 11 April 2021
  • Date: 12/04/2021
  • Evaluation and reporting
  • May 2021
  • Date: 31/05/2021
  • New plans developed
  • June 2021
  • Date: 30/06/2021

Enquiries