; City welcomes new and returning councillors - City of Wanneroo

City welcomes new and returning councillors

Published Thursday, 21st October 2021

The City of Wanneroo has welcomed four new and three returning members to Council following their success in the Local Government Election.

City of Wanneroo Councillors
From left to right: Cr Wright, Cr Berry, Cr Miles, Cr Coetzee, Mayor Roberts, Cr Aitken, Cr Rowe and Cr Herridge.

Mayor Tracey Roberts swore the Councillors in to positions in the City’s new seven-ward system at a ceremony at the Civic Centre on Monday 18 October. 

Newly elected councillors are:  

North Ward

  • Sonet Coetzee (re-elected) 

North-East Ward

  • Linda Aitken (re-elected)

Central-West Ward

  • Helen Berry

Central-East Ward

  • Paul Miles (re-elected)

Central Ward

  • Jordan Wright

South-West Ward

  • Natalie Herridge

South Ward

  • James Rowe

Mayor Tracey Roberts congratulated her fellow council members on their successful election.

“I warmly congratulate our newly elected and re-elected Councillors, and I trust they will work hard alongside our current Councillors to deliver excellent opportunities and results for our community,” she said.

“I look forward to working with all of our councillors to represent the best interests of our community and to ensure the City of Wanneroo is a strong, connected community that our residents are proud to call home. 

“Our Councillors bring diverse expertise to Council, which will ensure that the needs and aspirations of our residential and business communities continue to be represented.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank our former councillors, Dot Newton (Central Ward, 2001–2021), Lewis Flood (North Coast Ward, 2017–2021), Hugh Nguyen (South Ward, 2013–2021) and Domenic Zappa (South Ward, 2013–2021), for their hard work and dedication to the community and the City of Wanneroo over the years.”

The newly formed council will attend a Special Council Meeting on Tuesday 26 October to elect the Deputy Mayor and representatives of committees and working groups.

Community members are welcome to attend.

View the full City of Wanneroo Local Government Election results.

More articles in the news archive.