; City of Wanneroo welcomes new and returning Mayor and Councillors - City of Wanneroo

City of Wanneroo welcomes new and returning Mayor and Councillors

Published Friday, 3rd November 2023

The City of Wanneroo has welcomed four new and four returning members to Council, including Mayor Linda Aitken, following their success in the 2023 Local Government Elections.

Wanneroo Council Members 2023

The Mayor and Councillors were sworn in to positions in the City’s seven wards at a ceremony at the Civic Centre on Thursday 2 November.

Newly elected Councillors are Alex Figg (North Ward), Phil Bedworth (Central-West Ward), Marizane Moore (Central-East Ward) and Eman Seif (South Ward).

Mayor Linda Aitken joins fellow returning Councillors Glynis Parker (North-East Ward), Jacqui Huntley (Central Ward) and Vinh Nguyen (South-West Ward).

The City of Wanneroo extends its gratitude to former Councillors Frank Cvitan and Brett Treby for their contribution to the City of Wanneroo community.

Former Cr Cvitan was first elected to the Council in 1999 and again from 2011, totalling 22 years of service to the City. He also served as Deputy Mayor from 2019 to 2021.

Former Cr Treby was elected to the inaugural City of Wanneroo Council in 1999, and re-elected in 2001, 2005, 2009, 2013 and 2015, serving 24 years continuously. He also served as Deputy Mayor twice, from 2007 to 2009 and 2021 to 2023.

The newly formed Council will attend a Special Council Meeting on Monday 6 November to elect the Deputy Mayor and appoint representatives to committees and working groups.

Community members are welcome to attend and can register their attendance.

View the full City of Wanneroo Local Government Election results.

More articles in the news archive.