The City of Wanneroo is proud of its rich cultural heritage and encourages residents to visit our local heritage places.
Ground Floor, Wanneroo Library & Cultural Centre
3 Rocca Way, Wanneroo
The Wanneroo Regional Museum showcases the City’s rich cultural heritage with exciting displays that celebrate the stories of the area. With over 550 objects and photographs on display, including a road roller used to build Wanneroo Road, an original beach shack and treasures from shipwrecks.
The recollections of local residents interpret the regions journey from an open land of lakes and traditional Aboriginal lifestyle to an isolated community of pioneers, and its growth into a thriving centre of industry and contemporary multicultural society.
To view a brochure of the Wanneroo Regional Museum & Community History Centre click below:
Wanneroo Regional Museum & Community History Centre Brochure.PDF
Wanneroo Museum is open Mon, Tue, Wed and Fri at 10am-4pm, Thur 10am-5pm and Sun 12noon-4pm.
The museum offers three school education programs:
- Wanneroo P.I: In this program students from years K to 7 will discover the secrets of their local community and solve the mystery of what the Wanneroo region was 'really' like in the olden days.
- Nyoongar Boodja Wanneroo. Aboriginal Studies Program: In this program students from Years 2 to 7 will investigate a number of aspects of traditional Nyoongar life in Wanneroo including the seasons and artwork.
- Behind the Scenes (in the museum): This program offers a great opportunity for students in Years 1-7 to see what goes on behind the scenes in a museum
For further information about education programs at the Wanneroo Regional Museum please contact the Education Officer.
Phone: 9405 5905/9405 9506
For more information on the Wanneroo Museum click here.
The Community History Centre is located inside the Wanneroo Regional Museum.
Centre resources include maps, books, pamphlets, newspapers and clippings, photographs, family history resources and oral histories. It also has online databases to help students track their ancestors and an online historic photograph database 'Picture Wanneroo'.
Click here for more information
To view historic pictures of Wanneroo on Picture Wanneroo click below:
Picture Wanneroo Catalogue
Buckingham House was built around 1880 by John Buckingham and saved from demolition by the Wanneroo community in the 1970s, to become a Heritage Activity Centre for school groups.
In 1898 John Buckingham donated five acres of land near what is today the junciton of Wanneroo and Dundebar Roads in Wanneroo for the construction of a school. He also gave £5 towards building costs. The Wanneroo School was opened on 30 January 1899 with Charles Shaw as teacher and 14 students enrolled. After several moves, the old school has to rest in May 2009 next to Buckingham House for use once again by school children.
Buckingham House and OldWanneroo Schoolhouse provide students with an experience of how people used to live and learn in the day before electricity in home. In the Heritage Activity program, students enjoy hands-on encounters with old-fashioned chores and school activities, experience milking an (almost real) cow, savour the smell of damper from the kitchen stove; discover their talents at hand sewing and old-fashioned games as well as the feel of washing clothes by hand!
The education program is designed for Years 2-4.
For further information about the education programs at Buckingham House please contact the Project Officer.
Phone: 9405 5906
Ocean Reef Road, Woodvale near the Wanneroo Rd intersection
Come and discover Wanneroo's oldest remaining residence, a significant heritage building, and discover the story of early settlers James and Mary Cockman and their descendants who called Cockman House home. The house and grounds provide a rare glimpse of the once rural outpost of Wanneroo on what was a working farm.
Open to the public Sundays 2-5pm. Closed all of February.
Available for weddings, photographs and group visits. Please contact the Project Officer.
Phone: 9405 5906
We present the History Hunter program, where students discover small facts to construct an overall story of the life and times of Cockman House, uncover a code to answer the 'final question', and are introduced to the idea of 'heritage'. Designed for Years 3-6.
For further information about the education programs at Cockman House, please contact the Project Officer.
Phone: 9405 5906
Discover Wanneroo's rich, yet sometimes hidden heritage on the Cultural and Civic Trail in the Wanneroo Town Centre. The trail consists of 16 markers celebrating places and events, each marking a site of cultural and heritage value within the townsite of Wanneroo. Along the way you will also discover a superb array of public artworks, based on the cultural heritage of the district.
The trail booklet and map is available by donation from the Wanneroo Regional Museum.
Click below to download a map of the Cultural and Civic Trail:
Cultural and Civic Trail Map.pdf
Located in the Neerabup National Park adjacent to Wanneroo Road, just north of the Flynn Drive turnoff. The 1.3km commemorative heritage trail includes ten significant sites marked with signs. This is the site of the second camp of the 10th Light Horse in Wanneroo during World War II.
The regiment's role was to protect the West Australian coastline from the threat of enemy attack, especially after the entry of Japan into the War in 1941.
At this site was an administration area, cook house, ammunition dump and stores as well as a large area dedicated to manoeuvres, the horse lines and a tent for the farriers.
The 10th Light Horse Regiment was the last Australian Mounted Cavalry unit and was disbanded at this campsite in Wanneroo in April 1944.
Click below for a colour brochure about the 10th Light Horse:
10th Light Horse Brochure.pdf
Situated in Cooper's Park, Fairport Vista Mindarie, Cooper's Lime Kilns were established in 1932 by Henry Cooper and his sons. These kilns played an integral role in supplying lime to Kalgoorlie's gold mining industry for more than 10 years. The kilns, which underwent restoration in 2001, are today historically significant due to their association with the Cooper family who were the first permanant residents of Quinns Rocks.
Click here to view a colour brochure about the Lime Kilns of Wanneroo.
Can you help us?
The following number plates were found buried under bitumen car parking space to the rear of the former Wanneroo Community Centre.
We are currently building a history collection about the number plates and seek the help of people in the community to provide stories, information or names of people linked to these plates. Please find the list of licence plates below.