Council Members

Browse Council Members

The City of Wanneroo is a democratic organisation which consists of a popularly elected Mayor and 13 Councillors. One Councillor is also elected as Deputy Mayor. The City is divided into three wards—South, Central and North Coast—with representative Councillors elected to their respective wards. The Mayor and Councillors form the Council and are responsible for setting the strategic direction for the City, policy development, identifying service standards and monitoring performance across the organisation.

The local Councillor is there to represent the views and opinions of individuals. It is also his or her responsibility to help those with difficulties which the Council could help solve. City of Wanneroo Councillors decide how the Council should carry out its many important functions.

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

To do this they have regular contact with the general public through either Council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Your Councillor will discuss any concerns or problems relating to Council services and listen to your views on issues that you feel are important.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a Declaration of Interest form, the details of which are published annually.