Council Trio Image


The City of Wanneroo is situated 22 kilometres north of Perth and with an area covering 685 square kilometres; it is one of the oldest and fastest growing regions in Western Australia.

With a unique landscape of more than 32 kilometres of coastline, large tracts of untouched bushland, State forest, wetlands, market gardens, and industrial, commercial estates, and residential estates, the City is the ideal place to see and live.

First recognised as a Roads District in 1902, the Wanneroo District held the first Elections and Road Board Meeting in January 1903.

In 1961, the Wanneroo Road Board became the Shire of Wanneroo, and in 1985, the City of Wanneroo. The City was divided into the Shire of Wanneroo and the City of Joondalup in 1998, and in 1999, the Shire of Wanneroo again attained the status of the City of Wanneroo.

The City of Wanneroo, is now one of the fastest growing local governments in Australia, and grew by approximately 7 per cent in 2007/08. Our estimated population is 156,000 as of June 2011.

The City of Wanneroo consists of four Ward Boundaries; Central, Coastal, North and South Ward, incorporating Koondoola and Girrawheen in the south, to Yanchep and Two Rocks in the north. To view a list of City of Wanneroo suburbs please click here.



23 Dundebar Road, Wanneroo WA 6065 | Locked Bag 1, Wanneroo WA 6946
Powered by Seamless CMS